• Follow us on Facebook!
  • Follow us on Twitter!


German MotoGP-round stays at Sachsenring

201 web

Sachsenring to continue hosting Motorcycle Grand Prix

SRM and ADAC agree on new five-year contract

Munich/Hohenstein-Ernstthal: The future of the German Motorcycle Grand Prix at the Sachsenring has been secured. Sachsenring Management GmbH and the ADAC have agreed to sign a new five-year contract to host one of Germany’s biggest sporting events, which has pulled in more than 200.000 fans over recent years. During the German Motorcycle Grand Prix weekend in July, MotoGP rights holders DORNA Sports and the ADAC reached an agreement in principle on the continuation of the German Motorcycle Grand Prix for another five years - continuing the long collaboration that has seen the German Motorcycle Grand Prix regularly held at the Sachsenring since 1998.

» Read more: German MotoGP-round stays at Sachsenring

GoPro Motorrad GP - Report



Even when the situation looked at its worst, Marquez produced magic to take a sensational seventh Sachsenring win.

Conditions had looked to be improving after the Moto2™ World Championship race, but brief showers of heavy rain hit the Sachsenring as MotoGP™ riders waited in the pits. The race was declared wet and flashbacks of the Dutch GP ran through the mind of every rider on the grid. Would it be Miller time again or would Jorge Lorenzo (Movistar Yamaha MotoGP) finally get to grips with the Sachsenring? When racing got underway there were almost no further signs of rain, making tyre choice more important than ever.

As the race began Andrea Dovizioso (Ducat Team) and Valentino Rossi (Movistar Yamaha MotoGP) emerged as the two favourites. Dovizioso had opened up a lead of almost two seconds as the track began to dry, riders considering a bike change. Andrea Iannone (Ducati Team) was the first rider to pit for intermediate tyres on lap 12. Over the course of the following laps most of the field followed suit, choosing a variety of slick and intermediate combinations.

Marc Marquez (Repsol Honda Team) was simply unable to match the pace of the leading riders as the race began, battling with Hector Barbera (Avintia Racing) for fifth. He was clearly struggling, running off at Turn 8 and lucky to stay upright. On lap 17 he entered the pits for slicks. It proved a masterstroke as his lap times were immediately four seconds faster than those on wets leading the race, his pace only getting faster. With six laps to go he took the lead and never looked back, going on to take a seventh straight victory at the Sachsenring. His lead at the top of the championship continues to grow, seemingly unable to put a foot wrong.

» Read more: GoPro Motorrad GP - Report

Sunday Guide

  • Marc Marquez starts from pole for the seventh successive year at the Sachsenring, including for four successive years in the MotoGP class. He is aiming for his seventh successive win at the Sachsenring.
  • Hector Barbera starts from second place on the grid. This is only his second front row start and his best ever grid position in the top class in what is his 112th MotoGP start.
  • Valentino Rossi, who starts from third place on the grid, is the last non-Honda rider to win in the MotoGP class at the Sachsenring in 2009.
  • Danilo Petrucci heads the second row of the grid, which is his best ever qualifying result in MotoGP.
  • This is the first time that two Ducati riders from Independent Teams have qualified together in the top four places on the grid.
  • In fifth place on the grid is Pol Espargaro, who is currently the leading Independent Team rider in the championship after scoring points in every one of the first eight races of 2016.
  • Taking the final place on the second row is Maverick Viñales. This is the best qualifying result at the Sachsenring circuit by a Suzuki rider since John Hopkins was fifth fastest qualifier in 2007.
  • Heading the third row is Andrea Dovizioso, which is his best qualifying result at the Sachsenring since joining the Ducati factory team in 2013.
  • In eighth place on the grid is Aleix Espargaro, who has failed to finish the last two races. He retired with technical problems in Catalunya and crashed out of the Dutch TT.
  • Andrea Iannone, who has qualified in ninth place on the grid, was the first Ducati rider across the line last year in Germany finishing in fifth place.
  • Heading the fourth row of the grid is Dani Pedrosa, who has finished on the podium seven times in the MotoGP class at the Sachsenring, including four victories.
  • World Champion Jorge Lorenzo starts from 11th place on the grid after appearing in Q1 for the first time since the current qualifying format was introduced in 2013. This is his worst qualifying result since he was the 12th fastest qualifier at the Dutch TT in 2013, the year that he crashed on the first day of practice and broke his left collarbone.
Moto2 class:
  • Takaaki Nakagami, first time winner three weeks ago in Assen, has qualified on pole for the first time since the British Grand Prix in 2013, which was also the last time that a Japanese rider has been on pole in any of the three GP classes.
  • Johann Zarco, who is in second place on the grid, finished second last year in Germany just 0.083 seconds behind Xavier Simeon.
  • Alex Rins, the Moto3 race winner in Germany in 2013, is starting from third place on the grid.
  • Simone Corsi, who heads the second row, has finished in the top four for the last three years in Germany. He was 2nd in 2013, 3rd in 2014 and 4th last year.
  • In fifth place on the grid is Franco Morbidelli, the Moto2 lap record holder at the Sachsenring circuit, which he set last year when battling for a podium finish before crashing at the final corner.
  • Sandro Cortese, who is in sixth place on the grid, won the Moto3 race in Germany in 2012 on his way to taking the world title.
  • Sam Lowes has qualified down in tenth place on the grid, which is his worst qualifying result since the final race of 2015 at Valencia when he was also tenth on the grid.
Moto3 class:
  • The last two Moto3 races have both been won by first time winners. The last time that first time winners took three successive wins in the lightweight-class was in 2007 when Simone Corsi, Lukas Pesek and Sergio Gadea were victorious.
  • Enea Bastianini is the first rider to get back-to-back poles in the Moto3 class since he was on pole in San Marino and Aragon last year.
  • Bastianini is the last rider to win a Moto3 race from pole at Misano last year.
  • Andrea Locatelli starts from second place on the grid, which is his best ever qualifying result and only the second time he has been on the front row.
  • Aron Canet is in third place on the grid, which is his second front row start of his rookie season in grand prix racing.
  • Bo Bendsneyder heads the second row of the grid. That’s the best qualifying result by a Dutch rider in any class since Jurgen van den Goorbergh was in 4th place on the grid for the MotoGP race at Phillip Island in 2002. The last Dutch rider to qualify in the top four in the light-weight class of GP racing was Loek Bodelier at Eastern Creek in 1993 when he qualified in third place on the grid.
  • In fifth place on the grid is Jorge Navarro on his return to racing after missing the Dutch TT.
  • John McPhee starts from eighth place on the grid, which is the best qualifying result so far for Peugeot in their first year in grand prix racing.



Gemeinde Gersdorf

Gemeinde Bernsdorf

Landkreis Zwickau

Juwelier Roller

Go to top